Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is the governing and voting body of Safe Harbor.  It is comprised of congregations and community partners who agree to serve as the volunteer staff of the emergency shelter during each season. Here are the members and affiliations for the 2023 - 2024 season.

First Last Church/Host Group
Hilary Alpers Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
Katie Bobrowski Christ The King
Joshua Brandt Central United Methodist Church
Julie Burton Northern Lakes
Sandra Councell St. Philip Neri
Rich Duell New Hope
Rich Faller Unitarian Universalist, Congr. of GT/ Operations
Brad Gerlach Sojourn
Kelly  Jensen Sacred Heart Elk Rapids
Rene LaFreniere Bayview
Becky Lanham Community Volunteer
Patrick Livingston St. Joseph's
Steve  McLain TC Presbyterian
Bruce Moore Grace Episcopal
Nan Niewiadomski St. Francis
Teresa Norris West Side Community Church
Donna Olendorf Community Volunteers
Mike Richardson Immaculate Conception
Tom Rockne Bethlehem Lutheran
Rhonda & Chuck Stevens Faith Reformed Church
Bill  White 5loaves2fish
Sara Wilk St. Patrick's